Blue Daisy Dress

I love this dress. It is comfy, stylish, and looks complicated but was actually very easy!

The pattern is McCall’s 6503, view D, with no sleeves. The fabric was a lucky quilting cotton find on the clearance table at Joann’s.

I did my usual grading between sizes, but did not have to lengthen this one. It went together like a dream and I only had to redo the stand-up collar part once. It is well worth going slowly on that section. The second time around I actually measured and drew lines on the fabric to sew along.

The buttons on the front are decorative – the dress has a side zip.

Next time I make this I will line the bodice so that the armholes are automatically bound (instead of using bias binding) before putting on the front band and collar. I will also reshape the armhole slightly in the front for ease of movement. One must consider these things when one is a dancer!

M6503

20170401_111647
Front, with feline supervision.
20170401_111700
Back
20170401_111620
Front detail

 

One thought on “Blue Daisy Dress

Leave a Reply

